• Print
  • Downloads

    PDF (1.10MB)

    Tables (2.47MB XLS)

    Specialised mental health care facilities portals

    Specialised mental health care is delivered in and by a range of facilities in Australia including public and private psychiatric hospitals, psychiatric units or wards in public acute hospitals , community mental health care services and government-operated and non government-operated residential mental health services.

    The information presented in this section is drawn primarily from the National Mental Health Establishments Database. For more detail about these and the other data used in this section see the data source section.


    There were 1,607 specialised mental health care facilities providing care in 2014–15 (Figure FAC.1).

    Key points

    • Specialised mental health services for admitted patients were provided by 160 public hospitals during 2014–15. These facilities employed over 14,000 full-time-equivalent staff, had 6,895 specialised mental health available beds, and provided care to admitted patients for nearly 2.2 million patient days. In addition, 62 private hospitals delivered specialised mental health services, providing 2,682 specialised mental health service beds.
    • There were 2,471 residential mental health service beds available during 2014–15, with almost two-thirds operated by government organisations.
    • There were over 31,000 full-time-equivalent (FTE) staff employed in state and territory specialised mental health care services in 2014–15, with over half of these (51.0%) being nurses. Nationally, this equates to 132.9 FTE staff per 100,000 population.
    • The number of FTE health care providers employed in public sector community mental health services increased from 3,358 in 1992–93 (19.1 per 100,000 population) to 10,586 in 2014–15 (44.8 per 100,000 population).

    Data in this section were last updated in February 2017.

    Figure FAC.1: Number of specialised mental health care facilities, available beds and activity in Australia, 2014–15

    The chart shows the allocation of bed and patient activity split into 4 groups of specialised mental health care services: public hospitals; private psychiatric hospitals; residential mental health services; and community mental health care services.

    Source: National Mental Health Establishments database.

    | Organisations >